What Is Auto-Connect?

Note: This documentation refers to the Beta version of Kite9 at http://kite9.com

In Kite9, you don’t control the exact position of diagram elements, just the layouts of containers, and the directions of links.  This is both a restriction, because you lose exact control, and an advantage, because the computer now has to worry about this stuff instead.

Auto-connect is the term in Kite9 for the creation of new links between parts.  By default, this is done when you add new Parts to your diagram.    

 

Auto-Connect For New Elements (The Default)

So, if I drop a new element on the diagram like this:

The diagram will be resized, and the elements lined up like this:

The link created between the two elements is done by auto-connect, and the direction will be fixed left-to-right for the link.

Auto-Connect For Existing Elements: Turned Off By Default

**
**

Auto-Connect is turned off for elements already on the diagram, so if I move something around on the diagram, Kite9 will suggest new layouts, like so new links will not be created, but you can change the layout of the diagram.

The dotted-blue line shows that, instead of creating a new link, this layout will be set.  When I let go of the element, the diagram redraws like this:

The Link will now always be rendered going down.

Changing Auto-Connect Settings

**
**

On the drop-down next to the link button, you can change the Auto Connect between one of three options:

  1. New (the Default):  New links are only created when you drag items off the chooser.  
  2. On:  New links will be created between the element you are moving, and any other element you move it near, if there is no pre-existing link between those elements.
  3. Off:  Links are not created.  Layout is still enforced by layout links, as shown below: